City Government

The City Council & and citizen boards direct the activities of our city.

Building Standards Commission

The Building Standards Commission & Fire Board meet on an as needed basis regarding appeals from the decisions of the Building Official or Fire Marshal.

Building Standards Commission Members

  • Bob Hamilton
  • Jim Bailey
  • Dale Songy
  • Karl Conrad
  • Bruce Muse
  • Jere Putnam


Special Building Standards Commission - Fire Board Members

  • Stacy Singleton (Fire Marshal-Burleson)
  • Paul Bemis (Fire Marshal-Alvarado)
  • Bob Morgan (Chair of Fire Advisory Board-Fort Worth)

pdficon small Building Standards Commission Application for Appointment

Keene Athletic Association

The Keene Athletic Association coordinates athletic programs for the City of Keene. For 2014 the Keene Athletic Association will be conducting a summer softball league. Keene Athletic Association members are appointed by the City Council.

Read more ...

City Council

The City Council consists of a six-citizen board, with two members for each of Keene's three wards. Three council seats, one from each ward, are up for election every two years. The Mayor is also considered a part of the City Council, though not normally a voting member.

Read more ...

Planning & Zoning

The Planning and Zoning Commission is comprised of five members appointed by the City Council and are responsible for approving plans for subdivisions, making recommendations to City Council regarding land use, re-zoning requests, amendments to zoning ordinances and other development regulations.

Read more ...